Reduce, REUSE, Recycle

This week I want to talk about ways you, yourself, can help stop ocean pollution. I know what you’re all thinking: clean the beaches and recycle everything you can. Well I have a specific way that’s super easy! Say it with me – reusable water bottles.

I have talked about the horror of plastics before and I will say it again. They do not fully degrade and kill cute animals. Just terrible.

There are so many different kinds of reusable water bottles and they all are great and save the lives of many marine life. In my opinion, everyone should have one! Most likely you all do, but don’t use them because it’s easier to buy water bottles.

Now if you don’t have one you like I have a few suggestions for you from Good Housekeeping. They tested out a bunch of different BPA-free water bottles to find the best reusable one. Pretty helpful if I do say so myself.

The best part is they’re pretty cheap. Their top choice – Nalgene OTG Everyday 24-ounce – which is pictured below is only $10. What a steal!

This water wonder is durable, leak-proof, and easy to sip from. It's made from Eastman Tritan plastic, which the manufacturer claims is BPA-free. Pros: The flip-top cap makes the bottle easy to open with one hand. Measurement markings on the side of the bottle make it simple to track how much water you've had on your walk. Cons: Some testers found the bottle lip a bit uncomfortable. (In ruby red, slate, or spring green;nalgene-outdoor.com)

Personally I haven’t used any of these water bottles, but I do have a great one that I love: the Camelbak Chute 1 liter. I drink a lot of water in a day so I needed something that was going to fill my needs and make it so I didn’t have to fill it up every 10 minutes.

I used to have one of those gigantic Victoria’s Secret water bottles that was 32 oz and I loved it. Until it broke. I dropped it once and it started to leak everywhere. Worst day of my life.

Since those were a little expensive – around $20 – I decided I would look into some other options. I had always heard Camelbak was a great brand, but I had never had one because I assumed it was too expensive.

Image result for camelbak chute

My 1 liter water bottle was only $14.00! The best part about it is that I have a lifetime guarantee. Definitely worth the money, which wasn’t even much.

I think the best part about this water bottle is the fact that it’s so big, but not chunky. I can still fit it in my backpack side pocket and drink out of it easily. Also the cap is attached and slides nicely into the handle so it doesn’t hit you in the face when you drink out of it.

You of course don’t have to get the exact water bottle that I use, but I definitely suggest that you all get one that you love and use it instead of plastic water bottles. You can get your favorite color, a quote you like, with a straw or without, large or small, filtered or not, and the list goes on.

The best part is that you are saving our oceans every sip that you take from your new reusable water bottle.

Leave a Reply

